Dunloy GP Open races a fantastic success

Our second annual open races took place today in brilliant sunshine and heat. Riders from all over Ulster competed in A3, A4, M50 Masters and Ladies categories on a course dominated by the intimidating Millbrae climb. Spectators were treated to a feast of superb racing with a very competitive combined Masters/ Ladies race won by an inform Benny O’Kane from the Square Wheelers with the superb Joanne Regan from Termoneely leading the ladies home. The A4 was a tense affair with very little separating the riders even after 3 ascents of Millbrae, this culminated in a spectacular bunch sprint won by Gerard Craig from VC Glendale. The top A3 event which comprised a 71 mile course proved to be a war of attrition with riders combating strong competition, high temperatures and challenging climbs. Our own Philip McGuigan broke away in the final 5 miles with Barry McKenna from West Tyrone CC and Barry proved the strongest on the finishing straight in Dunloy Village.

This event will live long in the memory and it is a testament to the work done by volunteers in the run up and on the day. Our thanks go out to the Race sponsors,  Cycling Ulster Commisaires, Gordon Parker and his team of timekeepers and also to the PSNI for their very kind assistance.

The results were as follows:

A3 race Sponsored by CDE Global

  1. Barry McKenna : West Tyrone CC
  2. Philip McGuigan: Dunloy CC
  3. Chris McCann: Inspired Cycling
  4. Daniel Purdy: Banbridge CC
  5. Johnny Gault: Causeway CC
  6. Ivor Hessian: Phoenix CC


A4 race Sponsored by Pappy’s Bakery Dunloy

  1. Gerard Craig: VC Glendale
  2. Pablo Alvarez: Phoenix CC
  3. Alastair Robinson: Bikeworx
  4. Adrian McGregor: Dunloy CC
  5. Samuel Carmichael: Roe Valley CC
  6. Alan Glendinning: Island Wheelers


Ladies Race sponsored by Altrichard Concrete Solutions

  1. Joanne Regan: Termoneely CC
  2. Laura Wylie: Team Madigan
  3. Jane Millar: Bann Wheelers


Masters M50 race sponsored by Altrichard Concrete Solutions

  1. Benny O’Kane: Square Wheelers
  2. Gerry Maguire: Phoenix CC
  3. Sean Wright: Ballymena Road Club


DSC_7026 DSC_7046 DSC_7050 DSC_7054

Share this Story

About Dunloy Cycling Club

Dunloy Cycling Club © Copyright 2015, Website by john@thinkingsharp.com