Tag: Racing


Stuart Laverty wins Dunloy Classic 11th June.

Congratulations to Stuart Laverty Ballymoney CC on a very close victory from Jason Henry.

It took a few photos to determine the winner as it was so close.

37 riders took part tonight but the top 7 finishers made a break and set a very hard pace.

Thanks to Finvoy Tyre Service for Sponsoring tonight event.

Thanks to all the riders who took part especially those younger ones who proved very strong right to the finish.

Thanks to organisers, timekeepers/judges and marshals for doing another great job and keeping us all safe.

And finally not forgetting our tea ladies for their continued support. Its very much appreciated.

DCC Classic15


Dunloy CC Youths at Dervock Road Race 10th June.

Photos of our Junior members at Dervock Road Race on wednesday night.

First experience for them and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Pictured are Erin & Kyra Kelly and the very young Mark Molloy.

The future of our club!

Thanks to Ballymoney CC for a well run event.

DSC_1899 DSC_1900


Dunloy Classic Road Race thursday 11th June.

Dunloy Classic Road Race thursday 11th June. Sponsored by Finvoy Tyre Service.
Starts from Dunloy Gaa pitch, Bridge road, Dunloy.
6 Laps.
Open to other clubs, race license essential.
Sign on from 6.45pm
Starts 7.30pm sharp.

Could we ask any members who are not racing to help to marshal this event.


Knockahollet Road Race 4th June

Knockahollet Road Race, starting from Ballinaloob Gospel Hall, 27 Ballinaloob Road, Dunloy.

6 Laps.

Open to other clubs, race license essential.

Starts 7.30pm sharp.

Marshals Group C

Aiden Mc Ilfatrick

Una Corrigan

Conor Bradley


Dunloy Cycling Club GP Open races a great success.

Last winter Philip Mc Guigan came to one of our meetings and suggested that we run an Open race.

At first we were a bit nervous as we are a fairly new club but thanks to a great team we have at our club we were soon eager to give it a go.

I think most people will agree that we put on a good show and will be back next year with a few extra races added.

We would like to thank alot of people for making this happen so i will list them all below (hope i dont miss anyone).

Firstly a big thank you to our sponsors Pappys Bakery, CDE Global and ACS Adrian Mc Camphill for the prize money.

The organisers, marshals, lead cars and Finvoy Tyre Service support vehicle.

Many thanks to Comms Aidan Higgins and Peter McGratten and to the time keepers and judges Ian Barfoot and Mary McKinney. They are to be congratulated for a very timely sorting out of the results.

The tea ladies for the refreshments and the lovely soup (supplied by Seamus and Martin Molloy) afterwards and for helping with the sign on.

Our neighbouring Cycle Clubs who volunteered and were a great help.

To Niall O’Hagan for prize giving.

Big thank you to Cuchullains GAA for the use of their premises.



Gerry Maguire Phoenix CC wins Masters race at Dunloy GP 31st May.

Congratulations to Gerry Maguire Phoenix CC on winning todays masters race.

Special mention to Kathryn Smyth Madigan on finishing 4th and collecting prize for 1st lady today.

The third race of the day was for Women and Masters and again it was Millbrae that decided the winners. In the first lap Geoff Garrett (Phoeni CC) and Stephen Cardy (north Down) had opened up a sizeable gap on the chasers along the fast stretch but as the turned into Millbrae it was not long before the group closed up again. Noel Boyce of North Down and Gerry Maguire (Phoenix) had a lash nearing the top of the hill and opened up a gap. In the last lap it was Phoenix CC’s Gerry Maguire who put the hammer down last time up the hill. He soloed home minutes ahead of the chasers to take a magnificent win. Second place was taken by his club-mate Geoff Garrett while Noel Boyce of North Down took third. Katherine Smyth of Team Madigan was the first woman.


  1. Gerry Maguire (Phoenix CC)
  2. Geoff Garrett (Phoenix CC)
  3. Noel Boyce (North Down)
  4. Kathryn Smyth (Madigan)

Michael Toland Phoenix CC wins A4 race at Dunloy GP Open 31st May.

Congratulations to Michael Toland Phoenix CC on winning todays A4 race.

The full field of riders in the A4 race had to complete two laps of the course. Any attemots to break away were soon thwarted as the riders reached the Millbrae climb where it was tongues out and hang on for dear life. The climb itself may not have been the hardest in the world but the riders turned into it from a fast flowing straight stretch of road and it just ramped up, eased off and ramped up again leaving no respite for tired legs.

A bunch sprint was on the cards and this was taken by Michael Tolan of Phoenix CC followed by Jeff Baines of Castlereagh CC and home rider James Dempsey. The final positions were taken by Owen Henry (Newry Wheelers), Neil Brown (North Down CC), Conor Bradley (Dunloy CC), Mark McCann (Harps CC) and Barry Grimes of Clann Eireann.

  1. Michael Toland (Phoenix CC)
  2. Jeff Baines (Castlereagh CC)
  3. James Dempsey (Dunloy CC)
  4. Owen Henry (Newry Wheelers)
  5. Neil Brown (North Down CC)
  6. Conor Bradley (Dunloy CC)
  7. Mark McCann (Harps CC)
  8. Barry Grimes (Clann Eireann CC)
Dunloy Cycling Club © Copyright 2015, Website by john@thinkingsharp.com