Tag: Racing


Chris Mc Keown DCC wins A3 race at GP Race 31st May.

Congratulations to Chris Mc Keown DCC on winning our very own GP Open Race today.

First off were the  A3’s who were to complete three laps of the eighteen mile circuit. The course took the riders from  Dunloy to Finvoy, Killagan, Dunloy with the tough climb of Millbrae on each lap and it was this climb that was to be the doing or undoing of many riders in all of the three races promoted by the club.

By the time the race reached the climb on the first lap a group of riders had broken free of the peloton and this proved to be a dangerous break as it included some strong young riders. Among these were juniors Cathal Clarke (Newry Wheelers), Aaron Swan (NRPT), Marc Heaney (Carn Wheelers) as well as local man Chris McKeown of Dunloy.

This group along with Keith Philips (North Down) managed to stay away but hardriding saw Gerard McNally join them. At the line it came down to a sprint which was taken by McKeown to the delight of the home crowd. Heaney was next followed by Clarke, Swan, Philips and McNally. The remining two places for points came down to a bunch sprint which was taken by Stephen Geary of Phoenix CC with Damien Lagan of Inishowen Wheelers taking eighth spot.

Full Results.

  1. Chris McKeown (Dunloy CC)
  2. Marc Heaney (Carn Wheelers)
  3. Cathal Clarke (Newry Wheelers)
  4. Aaron Swan (NRPT)
  5. Keith Philips (North Down)
  6. Gerard McNally (Bann Valley RC)
  7. Stephen Geary (Phoenix CC)
  8. Damien Lagan (Inishowen Wheelers)




DCC Open Race 31st May

The first race of the day will be the A3/junior race which will be over three laps of a tough course covering 54 miles in total. This race is sponsored by Pappy’s bakery, Dunloy

Next off will be the CDE Global sponsored A4 race which will 36 miles after 2 laps of the course.


Finally there will be a Masters/Womans race again with a distance of 36 miles.


See below a link to the course


Sign-on from 11 30am to 12 30pm at Dunloy GAA clubrooms, Bridge road, Dunloy.

First race off at 1pm from the start point on Dunloy Main Street will be the A3s followed shortly by the A4s and then the Masters/ Womans race

Each race will have a limit of 80 riders

Entry fee will be £12 and will be via entry central for the A3 and A4 race. Masters/womans race will be sign-on on race day


There will be no refunds after 25th May.


Showers will be available in the clubrooms afterwards.

Tea and refreshments will also be available before prize giving in the GAA clubrooms


Chris Church wins Glenbuck Road Race 21st May.

Congratulations to DCC member Chris Church on winning tonights race.

Once again we had a great turnout with 39 riders taking part.

We would like to thank all those who took part and to the organisers and marshals for keeping us all safe.

This was a new circuit to us so please excuse us for any teething problems that might have occurred.

Results – Top 10

1. Chris Church DCC

2. James Dempsey DCC

3. Dessie Dillon DCC

4. Adrian Mc Gregor

5. Adrian Mc Camphill DCC

6. Richard Reid Ballymena RC

7. Gareth Peden Causeway CC

8. Brendan Flanagan Biestys BCC

9. Gary Reid Ballymena RC

10. Brendan Mc Allister Glens CC


Glenbuck Road Race 21st May

Glenbuck Road race starting from Gaa Pitch car park.

The race will finish at the Bridge Bar car park, taking in 3 laps of the Glenbuck Road climb.

Open to other clubs, race license essential.

Starts 7.30pm sharp

Marshals Group B

Neil Higgins

Simon Corrigan

Vincent Drain


Glenbuck Road Race thursday 21st May.

Glenbuck Road race starting from Gaa Pitch car park.

The race will finish at the Bridge Bar car park, taking in 3 laps of the Glenbuck Road climb. (21.5 miles)

Open to other clubs, race license essential.

Sign on from 6.45pm

Starts 7.30pm sharp

Glenbuck Race route

Click on mile markers when viewing map to see direction of route.

Marshals Group B

Neil Higgins

Simon Corrigan

Vincent Drain


Jonny Dooey DCC wins Inter Club Road Race 7th may

Congratulations to Jonny Dooey on winning tonights race.

Well done to Aaron Swann NRPT who finished 2nd , Steven Mc Allister BCC 3rd and Chris Mc Keown DCC in 4th.

Thanks to all 48 riders who took part in what turned out to be a very tough circuit.

Thanks also to organisers and marshals for doing another great job.

Thanks to Gordon and Alicja for helping us out with results and photos.

Copy of Event 3_Dunloy RR


Interclub Road Race (H) 7th May

Interclub Road Race on “Dunloy Classic Circuit” starting from Gaa pitch, Bridge Road

5 Laps

Starts 7.30pm sharp

Open to other clubs, race license essential

Marshals Group E

Aidan Mort

Lee Mc Laughlin

John Mc Donnell


Ryan Wallace BCC wins Anticur Road Race 30th April

Congratulations to Ryan Wallace from Ballymoney CC on winning tonights race.

Ryan pipped Nigel Bradley NWCC  at the finish line.

We would like to thank all 48 riders who took part and made this such a great event.

Thanks again to organisers and marshals for a well run event.

We would like to wish those riders who came off near the finish a speedy recovery and hope to see them back again

in the future.


Dunloy Cycling Club © Copyright 2015, Website by john@thinkingsharp.com